Dehradun, August 24
Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna inaugurated administrative and residential buildings of Haldi Thana at Pantnagar today.
He laid emphasis on equipping the buildings with modern facilities and said the upgrade of police stations would help police personnel carry out their duties and investigate cases more effectively which would in return curb criminal activities in the area.
Bahuguna mentioning the natural calamity that hit the state said he was grateful towards all political parties for their support during the crisis. He said MLAs of allied parties had donated Rs 25 lakh each from their MLA Fund to the Chief Minister Relief Fund. He called on the public to extend their support to disaster hit people.
Bahuguna said the decision to pay sugarcane farmers and workers of sugar mills their dues in time would yield good result. The state government would ensure that the interests of workers were not compromised while running sugar mills on the PPP mode.
He said owing to non-existence of the sugarcane production, the decision had been taken to close Gadarpur Sugar Mill. However, it would be ensured that the people working in this mill were adjusted in other mills. The Chief Minister said it would be ensured that their employment, salary and service conditions were not affected.
Earlier, Irrigation and Revenue Minister Yashpal Arya said with new administrative and residential buildings coming into existence, the long-pending demand of the area was fulfilled. He said the state government was committed to developing basic infrastructure.
Cabinet Minister Mantri Prasad Naithani appreciated the functioning of the government.
Both buildings were constructed at Rs 76.82 lakh by the Rural Engineering Service in 2.36 acres.
Also present on the occasion were MLAs Rajesh Shukla, former Cabinet minister Tilak Raj Behad, KMVN Chairman Kiran Mandal, Chairman Mandi Parishad Dr Shailendra Mohan Singhal, Congress district president Narayan Singh Bisht, DGP Vijay Raghav Pant, DIG Deepak Jyoti Ghildiyal, DM Brijesh Kumar Sant and SSP Neelesh Anand Bharne among other. 

See More