Dehradun, September 10
Chief Minister Vijay Bahuguna, along with Union Minister of State for Agriculture, Food Processing and Parliamentary Affairs Harish Rawat, participated in the 125th birth anniversary celebrations of Bharat Ratna Govind Ballabh Pant at his birth place Khunt, located 25 km from Almora district headquarters, today. Both the leaders paid floral tributes to the statue of Pant.
Bahugna advocated christening the class rooms meant for postgraduate courses in Khunt Inter College and Medical College after Ballabh Pant's name. He said that the government would take a decision on all 70 demands pertaining to public welfare put up by the MP and MLA, Almora, and other public representatives.
Bahuguna said that late Ballabh Pant had dedicated himself for public service and was one of the great freedom fighters. His eloquence in delivering a speech and parliamentary skills could not be compared. He said that everybody should take inspiration from his works. Bahuguna said that all should rise above narrow-mindedness and work collectively for the development of the country. He said that realising his dreams would be a true tribute to him.
Union Minister of State for Agriculture and Parliamentary Affairs Harish Rawat said that comprehensive development of rural areas was the main objective of the government. He said that it was necessary for the public representatives and government officers to work dedicatedly to provide basic amenities to the people living in rural areas. He said that state government and the Central government should work in coordination to develop the historical jail of Almora to a national museum so that the young generation took inspiration from the articles related to freedom struggle.
MP Pradeep Tamta advocated calling a special Assembly session to discuss the principles and works of Ballabh Pant and also to celebrate his birth anniversary at state functions throughout the state.
Students presented cultural programmes and delivered speeches on Pant’s personality. Also present on the occasion were MLA Manoj Tiwari, MLA Lalit Farshwan, DM Akshat Gupta, Rajendra Barakoti, Kailash Sharma and other prominent citizens

See More