Dehradun October 7
Both District Election Officer Ravinath Raman and Deputy Inspector General, Dehradun Range, Sanjay Gunjiyal today addressed police/security personnel, zonal magistrates, sector magistrates and zonal police officers at Police Lines in Race Course with regard to polling and security arrangements in wake of the Tehri Lok Sabha bypoll.

Senior Superintendent of Police Neeru Garg and election observer Baji Rao Jadhav was also present on the occasion.
Raman said all employees and police personnel must conduct election in fair manners without making any mistake which could cause repolling in any polling booth.
He said 182 polling parties would leave for Chakrata Vidhan Sabha on Monday. They would be distributed all the required material in the morning. Security personnel would also leave with them. For the rest of the six Vidhan Sabha seats, Vikas Nagar, Sahaspur, Mussoorie, Dehradun Cantt, Rajpur Road and Raipur, the polling parties would leave on October 9.
He said the police personnel must keep in touch with Returning Officers while ensuring about the list of those who would be allowed entry inside the polling station. The handicap people could take one person for help with themselves. He made it clear that neither any influential person of the area nor even gunman of any MLA should be allowed inside the polling station.
He said the police personnel must ensure security to the material related to election and EVM machines.
In case of any violence or problems, they must contact sector magistrates or higher police officials.
Sanjay Gunjiyal said the election duty was most important in the government service in a democratic country. He said new rules and regulations were framed with regard to election every time which must be followed sincerely.
He directed the police personnel to observe patience during their election duty and prevent fake voting effectively. He also instructed police and security personnel not to accept any favour from political parties.
Neeru Garg said in the seven Vidhan Sabha areas, 128 polling stations were sensitive and 118 were super sensitive.
She said sufficient police force would be deployed to ensure security on these polling station.
At least 22 zonal officers had been kept in reserve. In the Vidhan Sabha area, 22 zonal magistrates, 22 zonal police officers and 101 sector magistrates and 101 police personnel have been deputed.
There will be one super-zone comprising of seven zones, manned by SP level officers. Besides this, there will also be one flying squad, 22 static surveillance teams.
Baji Rao Jadhav, who has been deputed by the Election Commission of India, in his address said, they must perform their duties sincerely from beginning of the election till the end. He said they must also report all election-related activities to the Election Commission.
He advised them to make the most of the training given to them in this regard. He said he was satisfied with the briefing given today with regard to election.

See More