Dehradun, November 18
The First Director General, Indian Council of Forestry Research and Education (ICFRE) golf cup, was organised at the FRIMA golf course, Clutterbluck road, Forest Research Institute, here.
Seventy nine golfers from Dehradun participated in the event, which was sponsored by Himanshu W Kane, Mumbai and Dr VK Bahuguna, Director General (DG), ICFRE. In the team category, the cup was won by Indian Military Academy that comprised of Lt Col SZH Rizvi, Lt Col RB Rawat, Harsh Vardhan Singh and Col A Khurma. The runners-up team was from Defense Services Officers' Institute (DSOI) consisting of Brig Kanwal Kumar, Col RB Thapa, Col SS Sandhu and Col A Kharola.
Among the veterans, VR Sagar and Capt KS Sood stood first and second, respectively. Maj TS Jamwal got the prize of the nearest to the pin. Lt Col SZH Rizvi hit the maximum number of birdies and contributed a lot to his team while Lt Col RS Rawat’s longest drive on the 10th hole was also important for IMA. Maximum pars were by VK Dandona. The youngest golfer title went to Pari. The match was followed by a dinner at the Council House, FRI, where the prize distribution ceremony took place. The prizes were given away by Usha Bahuguna, Lt Gen Manvender Singh, Commandant, IMA, Poonam Bhojvaid and Dr PP Bhojvaid, Director, FRI.
Dr Bhojvaid accorded the vote of thanks.

Tribune News Service

See More