Dehradun News:

Uttarakhand DGP B S Sidhu has been named, by the Union home ministry, in the selection committee of the President's Police Medal. Sidhu is the first DGP from the Himalayan state to be named in the panel. 

The committee, headed by the Union home minister, has the departmental secretary, director CBI and director IB as its permanent members. Each year, two DGPs from different states are chosen to finalize the awards. Assam's Khagen Sharma is the other DGP on the panel for this year. 

DGP Sidhu, a 1979-batch IPS officer, told TOI, "It is a special honour for me and at the same time a major responsibility given to me by the home ministry." 

He pointed out that each state, Union territory, the Central Police Organization and paramilitary forces forward names of policemen for the coveted medal. 

"It is the role of the committee to short-list and finalize the candidates for the award," said the 58-year-old DGP, who has held the post since September 30, 2013. 

On Republic Day, the President's Police Medal is given under four categories — President's Medal for Gallantry, Police Medal for Gallantry, President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service and Police Medal for Meritorious Service. 

In 2013, 875 police personnel, including six from Uttarakhand, were given the award. Last year, 766 cops, another six from the state, got the police medals. 

See More