BJP’s Anita Mamgain, has been elected the first mayor of Nagar Nigam Rishikesh. She defeated her nearest rival independent candidate Veena Deep Sharma with a difference of 11164 votes. Anita Mamgain got 26403 votes. Congress candidate Lakshmi Sajwan stayed in third with 12057 votes. Aam Aadmi Party candidate Manju Sharma had to be satisfied with 317 votes. 306 people did not like any candidate. All these stamped the notes. With the big victory of Anita Mamgain, the BJP has ended its one and a half decade drought in Rishikesh.

On Tuesday, counting of votes of Rishikesh Nagar Nigam in IDPL community building was completed. Four candidates were in the fray for the post of Mayor in Rishikesh Municipal Corporation. Among them were Anita Mamgai of BJP, Lakshmi Sajwan of Congress, Manju Sharma of Aam Aadmi Party and Independent candidate Veena Deep Sharma. Counting started at 8 o’clock on Tuesday morning started with counting of ballot ballot. In the postal ballot, BJP got 22, Congress got 21 and Veena Deep Sharma got 18 votes.
The first round ended at around twelve o’clock. In the first phase, BJP candidate Anita Mamgai got a lead of 538 votes. In the second phase, she left behind Independent candidate Veena Deep Sharma with 2237 votes. In the third phase, the marginal difference of their votes was 4004, and in the fifth phase, had achieved an unassailable lead of 9991 votes. In the sixth and final phase, BJP candidate Anita Mamgain won by landslide victory with 26403 votes. Independent candidate Veena Deep Sharma, got 15235 votes, while Congress candidate Lakshmi Sajwan got 12057 votes. Aam Aadmi Party candidate Manju Sharma recieved 317 votes. BJP candidate won 15 wards in Rishikesh out of Municipal Corporation of 40 wards. However, in 11 wards, the Congress candidate and in 14 wards, Independent candidates won. A year ago the Rishikesh Nagar Palika was upgraded to Nagar Nigam status. After which it was the first election of the body.

The post Anita Mamgain elected first Mayor of Nagar Nigam Rishikesh appeared first on Uttarakhand News Network.


Post a Comment

See More