In the elections held for 84 municipal corporations including seven municipal corporations, the BJP won 34 posts of body heads in 83 results, whereas on 25 Congress and independents won 23 seats. BSP won one in civic body elections. In the municipal corporations, the BJP won the post of mayor in Dehradun, Rishikesh, Rudrapur, Kashipur and Haldwani, while Kotdwar’s post went to Congress. There is a fight neck in neck fight for the top post in Haridwar. 960 out of 1064 posts of councilor, member and member posts were announced. Among them, the independents won 538, BJP 270, Congress 145, BSP three, AAP two and SP and UKD won one post each.
After voting on Sunday for the body elections, the fate of the contestants in the ballot box opened on Tuesday, with counting of votes in 84 counting places on Tuesday. Counting began in 822 tables from 8 o’clock in the morning and the results started  in the afternoon. First of all the election results of small bodies were declared. With trends and results, the colors of the faces of candidates and their supporters and political parties also changed momentarily. The results of 81 out of 84 heads of the heads had been announced till 8 o’clock in the morning, while the remaining two were being counted. The picture of the results in the municipal councils and the Nagar Panchayats has become clear. Only the election of Pokhri Nagar Panchayat has been stopped. Five of the seven municipal corporations have cleared the picture. The first result for the Mayor posts in the Municipal Corporations came in favor of the BJP. In the Rishikesh Municipal Corporation, the BJP’s Anita Mamgain defeated her closest rival, Independent Veena Deep Sharma (15235), by winning 26403 votes.

The post BJP’s Sunil Uniyal ‘Gama’ elected Mayor of Dehradun appeared first on Uttarakhand News Network.


Post a Comment

See More